The Finnish Society of Sciences And Letters

Grants and prizes

Link to the online application service

Over the years the Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters has received significant donations. This makes a relatively large distribution of annual research grants possible. 


The Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters supports research in natural sciences, biosciences, humanities and the social sciences. The Sohlberg delegation supports postgraduate research within the geosciences (incl. geography) about the natural conditions in Finland and the Nordic countries. Grants are awarded for for conference trips, fieldtrips and purchase of programs (not purchase of equipment).

Guidelines for grants awarded by the Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters

The Finnish Society of Science and Letters next grant application period is 1-31.1.2024. The application should be made electronically through this link.

Awarded grants will be published on this website before the end of March. Applications that are not mentioned has not been granted. An award letter will also be sent to those who have been granted. The grant cannot be disbursed before the application is completed with personal identity code, home address, e-mail and bank account number.

Guarantor´s commitment

Grants can be awarded to members of the Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters or other researchers. When a non-member applies for a grant, it must be endorsed by a member who serves as a co-guarantor for the application and the performance of the foreseen work.
The form for the guarantor´s commitment. 

Report on the use of the grant

Persons receiving grants must submit a report on the use of the grant funds as soon as possible after completion of the work, or at least once a year no later than 31 May. The report including possible receipts should be sent by e-mail to the following address: The report is reviewed by the permanent secretary and treasurer and is subject to approval by the board.

Non-members reports must be endorsed by the member who serves as a co-guarantor for the application and the performance of the foreseen work.
The form for the guarantor´s statement. 

Privacy policy

The privacy policy for grants can be read here.


PhD Mikael Björnberg Memorial Fund awards grants to distinguished scientists in physics, preferably theoretical physics. Former recipients.

The Ruth and Nils-Erik Stenbäck Foundation annually awards grants to young Finnish and Swedish scientists in mathematics, physics and chemistry. The grant proposal is made by the Society and the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences as a collaboration.

The Magnus Ehrnrooth foundation awards grants for scientific research in mathematics, astronomy, physics and chemistry, including medical chemistry. The proposal for the annual grants is made by the Society’s board or a committee appointed by the board. Grant award policy of the Magnus Ehrnrooth Foundation.


The Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters have their own prizes but also administer and help with the decision of others.

Professor E.J. Nyström Prize is awarded annually for scientific accomplishments. The prize alternates between the four sections. Former recipients.

Professor Theodor Homén Prize is awarded annually and alternates between physics and the history of Finland. Former recipients.

State Councillor Lorenz Lindelöf Prize is awarded every third year for scientific work in mathematics. The price was created in 2013 and was awarded for the first time at the 175 year jubilee in april 2013. Former recipients.

Magnus Ehrnrooths foundation Prize for mathematics is awarded annually and alternates between mathematics, chemistry and physics. Former recipients.

Three teacher prizes are annually awarded to prominent upper secondary teachers for education in the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences. An important criterion for the prize is that the students of the receiver of the prize must have applied to universities within the respective areas. Former recipients.

The Society’s medal in bronze or silver, crafted by Alexander Baharev, is awarded based on special actions for the Society.

Grants awarded

Grants awarded 2023

Grants awarded 2022

Grants awarded 2021

Grants awarded 2020