The Finnish Society of Sciences And Letters


Chair: Pauline von Bonsdorff
Vice-Chair: Matti Miestamo

The Section of Humanities comprises all the main subjects regarded as belonging to the humanities: languages, philology and linguistics, history and archaeology, the fine arts (literature, music, art history and architecture, the cinema, aesthetics and art education, classical literature and history, philosophy, folklore and comparative religion. The section also has a considerable body of expertise in non-European languages and cultures.

The section’s members play an active part as speakers in the Society’s meetings and seminars, and it also arranges its own seminars on topics of current interest. The section has a committee for making recommendations regarding possible recipients of international prizes.

Among the Society’s own series of publications, works falling into the category of the humanities tend to be published in Commentationes Humanarum Litterarum if they are written in an international conference language, or otherwise in Bidrag till kännedom av Finlands natur och folk, which also accepts publications in Swedish and Finnish. The section includes two honorary members of The Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters, the professor of Romance archeology Eva Margareta Steinby and the professor of Greek philology Holger Thesleff.

Ordinary members of the section